G-Force

Saw it this afternoon, I have a couple thoughts on it:

* It wasn’t funny enough. I got a few chuckles, but overall it feels like they went for amusing characters over jokes. Darwin, for example, is a total straight man, and Tracy Jordan’s character was more subdued than I expect. (Usually Tracy Morgan’s characters are totally infantile, but his character here, Blaster, was competent and useful.)
* The CGI was pretty good.
* The action sequences were better than I expected.
* I liked the plot twist at the end… it was formulaic, but the way they sold it was well done.
* It didn’t go overboard with the lowbrow humor… I had expected more poop and fart jokes, but they kept it to a small handful.
* Performances were average, none of the live or voice actors stood out. (Bill Nighy was fun and over the top though, as usual).
* The whole plot point of the government shutting down the operation that produced SUPER INTELLIGENT TALKING ANIMALS had to be forgiven, as it was part of the setup… but later in the movie the government was putting a great deal of effort into rounding up the critters, after they’d shown a great deal of patriotism… why the hate? Maybe I missed something while I was playing WoW 😉
* I’d watch a sequel, but holy crap, 150m reported budget?? Worldwide box office was acceptable, the film will turn a moderate profit once dvd rentals and sales come in, but if it’s that expensive a sequel is a risky proposition.

If your kids dig it, I’d say it’s a pretty solid choice for the family library… it’s a good action adventure flick for them. For the rest of us, I’d give it something along the lines of a C to C+.

~ by frontendchaos on January 31, 2010.

Leave a comment